Reflections on the Bhagwat Geeta – Chapter X


Recall that Chapter IX ends with Verse 34 in which Shree Krishna instructs Arjun:

  • “Dedicate your mind to Me (मन्मना भव); Become my Bhakt (भव मत भक्तो); Worship Me (मत अद्याजी); Do Namaskaar to Me (or bow to Me) (माम नमस्कुरु) ; Perform as a part of Me (युक्त एव आत्मानम् मत परायणः) ; Then you will reach Me.”

In the first eleven Verses of Chapter X , Shree Krishna continues the teachings of Chapter IX:

  • Verse 3 – “There is no Beginning to Me, There is no End to Me. I am the Supreme God all people (लोक महेश्वरम्). Those who understand this become absolved (प्रमुच्यते) of all sins (सर्व पाप) .”
  • Verse 8 – “I am the Origin of everything (अहं सर्वस्य प्रभवः) and All things are arise from Me (मत्तः सर्वं प्रवर्तते) .”
  • Verse 10 – “Those who worship me continuously with love (भजतां प्रीति-पूर्वकं), I give them (ददामि) the Yog of Buddhi (बुद्धियोगं) with which they can reach me.” 
  • Verse 11, Line 2 – “To bless these (above worshippers), I destroy (नाशयामि) the darkness (तमः) generated by  ignorance (अ-न्यानजं)  in their inner selves (आत्मभावस्थो) with the brilliance of the Lamp of Knowledge (न्यानदीपेन भास्वता).

Line 2 of Verse 11 should remind readers of the ancient invocation तमसो मा ज्योतीर गमय or From Darkness Lead me to Light from Bruhad-Aranyak Upa-Nisad composed by the great Vedic Rushi याज्ञवल्क्य or Yadnya-Valkya.

Here Shree Krishna tells Arjun that he answers this invocation or removes the darkness of ignorance from the inner selves of those who worship Him with all their love. This should again remind readers that these Chapters are considered to be the teachings of Bhakti doctrine.

At this point, Arjun begins asking Shree Krishna he understands the true nature of Shree Krishna. But he does not understand how to think of Shree Krishna. Specifically, Arjun asks:

  • Verse 17 – O Yogi (योगिन)! How do I recognize you (कथं विद्यामि त्वां अहं) as I constantly think of you (सदा परिचिन्तयन)? In which different ways or aspects (केषु केषु भावेषु) do I think of you (चिन्त्योऽसि भवन मया)?

This is where Shree Krishna begins his explanation with a series of Representations of himself:

  • “I am the the Soul inside all beings; I am the Beginning, the Middle and End of all creation. I am the Vishnu among all Aditya, I am the Sun among all lighted entities, I am the Indra among Gods,…I am Shankar among all Rudra, …I am the Bruhaspati among all Purohit, I am Bhrugu among all Great Rushi, ….I am Vajra among all weapons, I am Vayu among all swift, I am Ram among Warriors, …I am Vasudeo among all Yadav, I am Vyaas among all Muni, I am Brahma, I am Eternal Time.”

Then the defining Verse:

  • Verse 39 – “I am (तत् अहं) the Origin (or seed of creation) of all creation (सर्व भूतानां बीजं) . There is no creation that exists (न अस्ति भूतं चराचरं) without that of Me (विना यस्यात  मया).”

At the end of Chapter X, Shree Krishna adds: 

  • “There is no end (न अन्तः अस्ति)  to my Divine Representations (मम दिव्यानां विभूतीनां) [Line 1, Verse 40]….. Just know (विष्टभ्यां) that by just one part of me (एक अंशेन), I have occupied this Universe.(अहं इदं कृत्स्नं स्तिथः जगत) [Line 2, Verse 42]“.

In Chapter XI, Shree Krishna displays His Divine Darshan (or Vision) to Arjun as we shall see next week. 

  Thus Endeth Chapter X named Vibhuti Yog (विभूति योग) of Shree Bhagwat Geeta, of the Upa-Nisad (उप-निसदत्सु) , of the Yog-Shaastra (योग शास्त्र) of Brahma-Vidyaa (ब्रह्म विद्या), of the dialog (संवाद) between Shree Krishna & Arjun.

Send your feedback to

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current ye@r *